Meet Our New Director of Business Development

img_5006An exciting change is coming to Marshall Furniture. We would like to announce that Tom Feldkamp, previously our Sales Manager, has been promoted to Director of Business Development. As one of our longest-held employees, Tom has been an extremely important asset to our sales team and has worked diligently for years to improve product design and customer relations. We are confident that Tom will bring a fresh perspective to the position and continued success for Marshall Furniture.

What is your educational background? What made you want to work for Marshall Furniture in the first place?

I went to Marquette University and graduated with a degree in Communications with a minor in Advertising.  I had previously worked in sales at an independent distribution arm of Sony Music.  I kind of saw the writing on the wall in that industry for the sales of compact discs and I figured moving on was the best for me at that time.

How long have you been with Marshall Furniture? What were your initial job title(s)/responsibilities? What was the path to your current position?   

I have been at Marshall Furniture for 15 years.  I was brought in to be a sales designer.  I then was Sales Manager until this recent positional change.  I guess it was just hard work that brought me to where I am today.

What have you enjoyed most about working for Marshall Furniture? What is your favorite part about your current position?  

Ownership has been very good to their employees.  They understand the importance of family.  The work atmosphere is very casual which is very vital to the success the company.  Employees can bring their dogs into work.  With as many as 5 dogs running around, it is hard to be too corporate.

How would you describe your current job title? What are some of your daily responsibilities, concerns and/or tasks

My current job title is Director of Business Development.  I am still doing sales and design but I am also now looking for new opportunities to grow our sales.  These opportunities include connecting with new dealers, end users, consultants and architects and also continue developing new products that meet the ever shifting landscape of the AV world.

What would you say are some of the more complex aspects of your position? How do you combat or work through any difficulties that may arise? 

The real challenge is being able to effectively communicate the needs of the customer to the manufacturing side of our business.  The world of sales and the world of manufacturing do not always see eye to eye.  Luckily we have good people that are willing to work through issues and arrive at common sense solutions.

What do you feel is the most significant thing you’ve learned since starting your career with Marshall Furniture?

The customer is always right.  They may be wrong but you always make it right with them if at all possible.  Time has proven this to be true.

What would you say sets Marshall Furniture apart from its competition?

Hands down it is our customer service.

What are some of your long term goals for the company? What about personally/professionally for yourself – any goals, hopes or ambitions?  

My goal is that Marshall Furniture continues on their path to grow and evolve parallel to the AV industry.

What do you like to do in your spare time (hobbies, interests, etc.)?  

My wife and I have two grade school boys who are active in travel baseball so that tends to occupy most of my time. When I do have free time,  I usually spending it either listening or playing music.  Oh, and then there is the Cubs.  I am an avid fan.  Obviously 2016 was a pretty good year for me!

Leave a Reply

